Day Forty-Eight

Alright, it’s Saturday. I’m on vacation and I want to take this opportunity to think a little about how my calorie tracking/intake has evolved since I’ve started my fitness journey. I used to think about my calories per day–making sure that I clocked in under my 2000 calorie limit was my main goal. And then almost every weekend I would inevitably go over my limit and feel terrible about myself.

But I’ve started to think about my calorie intake on a weekly basis instead and it’s really opened up my world. During the week I can easily eat 100 calories less per day without feeling deprived, then on Friday and Saturday I have a bit more leeway to go above my calorie limit without feeling guilty and terrible. I still didn’t do a great job with my eating goals this weekend but at least I knew I had a few hundred banked calories for me to dip into on Friday night and Saturday night when I ate and drank a lot.

What I Ate Today:

Breakfast (70) I woke up before everyone else and walked to a nearby Starbucks for a grande nonfat misto to tide myself over until we had a late brunch.

Lunch (680) For brunch I had an omelette with black beans, cheese, and guacamole. I also had a slice of whole wheat toast with butter.

Snacks (760) After taking a walking tour of (what felt like) most of DC we headed back to our home-away-from-home and snacked on some grapes, crackers, cheese, and I had a half-glass of wine.  

Dinner (1,312) For dinner we went to Legal Seafood and, while I did drink A LOT of wine, I did some ordering that I’m proud of: grilled scallops with a side of seaweed salad and sauteed spinach. We also split some calamari to start but there were 4 of us at the table and I only had a few. I also didn’t mindlessly snack on the bread. Yay for smart choices!  

Exercise

While I didn’t technically exercise I did walk all over the mall to see DC’s monuments.

Summing up the day

2 Liters of water every day (1 pt.) 0
Stop Eating before 9pm (1 pt.) 0
No processed food (1 pt.) 0
No sweets/sugary treats (2 pts.) 2
At or below calorie limit (3 pts.) 0
Accurate food journal (1 pt.) 1
Stick to meal plan (1 pt.) 0
Strength Training (1 pt.) 0
Cardio Training (1 pt.) 0
No Alcohol (1 pt.) 0
Points Tally: 3
Leave a Reply

