Day Five

Well I woke up this morning and made a mistake. You may have noticed that I tend to eat the bulk of my calories during the evening. I’ve been logging my calories and trying to live a healthy lifestyle for a long enough time that I’ve learned something about myself: I need to eat a lot in the evening or I feel like I’m depriving myself. I know many diets advocate eating 5 or 6 small meals per day and I do try and snack a bit in the afternoon and early evening but I know myself and for me to be successful I need to save the bulk of my calories for later in the day. Unfortunately, I was sucked in by the allure of a lunchtime banh mi and bubble tea. Oh well, you live and learn. And I’ll have to work hard to stay on track tonight and not snack after dinner.

What I Ate Today:

Breakfast (408) I worked out first this morning then came home and made a breakfast smoothie with a frozen banana, cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and cup of frozen berries. If I have a smoothie right after working out then I add 1 scoop of whey protein powder, which I did this morning. Then I had a grapefruit :).

Classic spicy banh mi
Classic spicy banh mi

Lunch (910) For lunch I went to my very favorite Vietnamese sandwich place in the world: Hanco’s. Seriously, this place serves the nectar of the gods. As noted above, this meal will be the bulk of my calories for the day, which feels good now but I know I’ll pay for this later.

Snacks (160) 4 thin mints, baby! Ok, so I probably should’ve had some more fruits or vegetables rather than the thin mints but it’s the weekend. And I’m still within my calorie budget.

Dinner (500) For dinner I had the third serving of the salsa chicken casserole. 3 servings to go–I’ll probably take some to work for lunch next week.

Exercise

Today I did Day 18 of Lauren Gleisberg’s 30×30 Fat Loss Shred.

Summing up the day

2 Liters of water every day (1 pt.) 1
Stop Eating before 9pm (1 pt.) 1
No processed food (1 pt.) 0
No sweets/sugary treats (2 pts.) 0
At or below calorie limit (3 pts.) 3
Accurate food journal (1 pt.) 1
Stick to meal plan (1 pt.) 1
Strength Training (1 pt.) 1
Cardio Training (1 pt.) 0
No Alcohol (1 pt.) 1
Points Tally: 9
Leave a Reply

