Day One

Day one has such a nice ring to it–the world is my oyster and I’m looking out over a fresh page on which I have yet to make a single mistake… feels good… feels fleeting. I know myself. But, that’s why I made this blog so here goes!

What I Ate Today:

Breakfast (243 calories) I had a cup of fresh blueberries in a bowl of McCann’s Instant Irish Oatmeal (the maple and brown sugar flavor) along with a cup of black tea.

Lonely desk breakfast...womp womp
Lonely desk breakfast…womp womp

Lunch (733 calories) For  lunch I had a pear and the leftovers of this orzo pasta with sun-dried tomatoes, sausage, and collared greens which I calculated to be about 630 calories. It was more when I made it for dinner the other night but (to be honest, I picked out most of the sausage on Saturday afternoon which was the high-calorie item anyway…).

Snacks (104 calories)

image1 (1)
18 almonds are 104 calories 🙂

Dinner (766) For dinner I made this chili & sausage oven frittata. image1
Apparently, I eat a lot of sausage (pause for laughter). Alongside I made a simple salad with a homemade vinaigrette dressing. Then I had a grapefruit because I’m 100% addicted to grapefruit and I can’t go a day without having at least one. Then I had 4 thin mints because it’s girl scout season. So sue me. Also, I’ve realized that I tend to think of foods as either “good” or “bad” and while, certainly, some foods might be better for you from a nutrition standpoint I’m trying not to deprive myself of any foods. As long as I can control the amount I’m eating then any food can be “good” in my book. [I try to consume 2000 calories a day and if I can eat 4 thin mints and still come in under my calorie budget then I can eat 4 thin mints, no questions asked.]

Exercise

I’ve been doing Lauren Gleisberg’s awesome 30×30 Fat Loss Shred which has been tough but great. It’s hard but you never have to work out for more than 30 minutes which I like and I highly recommend it. Today I did Day 15. Verdict: I hate burpees.

Summing up the day

I like to chart my daily progress by giving myself a series of points per day based on certain goals and/or activities and then add up those points. If I break 70 then I give myself a reward, it’s usually a manicure but it can be anything.

2 Liters of water every day (1 pt.) 1
Stop Eating before 9pm (1 pt.) 1
No processed food (1 pt.) 0
No sweets/sugary treats (2 pts.) 0
At or below calorie limit (3 pts.) 3
Accurate food journal (1 pt.) 1
Stick to meal plan (1 pt.) 1
Strength Training (1 pt.) 1
Cardio Training (1 pt.) 0
No Alcohol (1 pt.) 1
Points Tally: 9
Leave a Reply

